Planets in Aspect – The Finer Details of the Astro Chart

Astrology – The Aspects

The Aspects are the angles formed between the positions of the planets in your astrological chart. The aspects explain how the planets work together; the aspects can show skills, means of resolving challenges and where you have the greatest opportunity for development.

In the charts below the blue lines show harmonious, flowing aspects; the red lines show challenging or solidifying aspects. Please note there’s no such thing as a “good” or “bad” chart, aspect or placement. Each placement has strengths and vulnerabilities. The Venus Mars conjunction brings many love affairs – and distraction from other matters due to an excess of romantic sentiment. A grande cross in the chart can create both a sense of resistance to the world and from the world – but also incredible strength and determination.

Too much ease can be as bad a thing as too much adversity. Square and opposition aspects provide a resilience and force that gives the native the power to tackle obstacles with endurance and determination.

Quem só conhece conforto não merece boa sorte. He who only knows comfort doesn’t deserve good fortune.

The soft aspect of the sextiles or trine may bring luck or ease in relating to others and indolence, passivity and a lack of focus. Planets in conjunction are placed so close to each other they are hard to differentiate – the ‘weight’ of the planets in one part of the chart and draws focus to that part of the chart. Conjunctions can be the most defining aspects in the natal chart – especially if they fall at either of the 4 angles (Ascendant, Descendant, Imum Coeli, Medium Coeli). Multiple conjunctions, called a stellium – this places extra weight and emphasis on this part of the chart, to the point that understanding the multiple complexities of the personality is difficult as they all kind of meld together. A stellium that does not include the Sun can so dominate a chart as to make the native almost equally Scorpio and Libra, for example.

 The planets represent parts of the psyche – ego, persona, libido, attachment, instinct, unconscious mind, intuitive mind, the need for change & transformation etc. The signs the planets fall in represent the way that the parts of the psyche are expressed. Independent ego (Sun in Aries), Instinct for comfort and stability (Moon in Taurus), Transcendant Love (Venus in Pisces), Wanderlust (Mars in Sagittarius).

The aspects between the planets in the signs show how parts of your nature work (or don’t work) together and examining them can help answer specific questions (about career, employment, spiritual perspectives etc.) and particularly help you understand relationship dynamics.

The most well know aspects are:

CONJUNCTION- planets in the same position or within a few degrees of each other

OPPOSITION 180° planets directly opposite each other.

SQUARE 90° Planets form hard aspect “blocking” or sometimes stabilising each other

TRINE 60° Harmonious aspect the planets support each other to amplify talents and abilities

SEXTILE 30° Gentle and supportive aspect, harmonious but not as strong or significant as a trine

The Grande Aspects are combinations of aspects that form larger geometric patterns in the chart – Grande cross, T-square, Grande trine, Kite, Mystic Rectangle (mystic rectangle indeed, pfft.)

By balancing the aspects in the chart, comparing them and determining the dominant formation the Astrologer can create a detailed picture of the native’s history, tendencies, capacities and fate.

Love Asha Maria

Want to learn astrology? Drop me a line on or leave a comment below. Please note the above post is a general explanation of these concepts for readers with little to no knowledge of astrology. Aspect astrology is a broad subject!

#conjunctionaspect #squareaspect #astrologybasics #understandingastrology #lesson #astrologyreadings #astrology #aspects #planetinaspect #trineaspect #sextileaspect

0 views0 comments

Asha Astrology